Cyrus Majidy, PPJ, Week 08

Made a very simplified stylized version of both textures from previous week, the lava and volcano texture. I created entirely new textures in After Effects. Cut down the frames from roughly 700 to exactly 72, exactly 3 seconds of a looping animated texture at 24 fps. I did this so that these animated textures could be compatible with Unity and not cost so much memory. Applying filter effects to individual layers of the animated texture didn’t exactly work as expected, but we can change that during spring term if we want.
I then focused on modifying the shading of the volcano rock texture to suit the style of the lava texture. When choosing a style and applying filter effects, I tried as much as I possibly could to push for a vectorized cartoony look in the stepped shading. At some point, I had to just choose the options that provided the best results to keep my brain from being unable to distinguish the changes in style. They are indeed seamlessly looping GIFs, WordPress just fudges that up.

Hours worked: 15

Leave a comment